Hunter Education Courses Available
With deer season approaching, the Georgia Department of Natural Resources is offering opportunities for those who need the hunter education course.
Officials with the Georgia DNR said the department offers two ways to make that happen. Those are an 8-hour online course followed by a 2-hour review or the 10-hour traditional classroom course.
The classroom course is free of charge.
The three available online courses each require a fee, from $9.95 to $24.95, but all are “pass or don’t pay” courses.
Fees for these courses are charged by and collected by the independent course developer.
If the online course vendor fees are an obstacle, students can obtain a CD-ROM by contacting their local DNR law enforcement office.
Completion of a hunter education course is required for any person born on or after January 1, 1961, who purchases a season hunting license in Georgia, is at least 12 years old and hunts without adult supervision, or hunts big game like deer, turkey, or bear on a wildlife management area.
The only exceptions include any person who purchases a short-term hunting license, such as the Apprentice License or the 3-day Hunting and Fishing Combo License, or is hunting on his or her own land, or that of his or her parents or legal guardians.
For more information, call 770-761-3010 or go online to www.gohuntgeorgia.com.