McFarlin wins Rick Perkins Award

A Franklin County woman is the winner of a teaching award at North Georgia Technical College.

Math Instructor Leslie McFarlin of Carnesville is North Georgia Tech’s winner of this year’s Rick Perkins Award for Excellence in Technical Education.

Three other instructors were also nominated for this 2013 award including Chris Bladowski of Toccoa in Culinary Arts, Holly Free of Clarkesville in Health Sciences, and Morris Harrison of Cornelia in Marine Engine Technology.

The Rick Perkins Award for Excellence in Technical Instruction has been an ongoing statewide event since 1991, and is designed to recognize technical college instructors who make significant contributions to technical education through innovation and leadership in their fields.

According to North Georgia Technical College, this past year McFarlin was deeply involved in redesigning the instructional strategy for learning support math classes at the college. North Georgia Tech President Dr. Gail Thaxton said that McFarlin exemplifies what is so outstanding about technical education, adding that she is very focused on students and their individual success and is constantly inspiring students to apply what they are learning in the classroom in a real-world context.

McFarlin will now continue to the next level of competition, representing North Georgia Technical College at the regional level on February 26.

The state winner will be selected at the annual Technical College System of Georgia Leadership Conference in April.