Monroe Area Runs Past Indians, 47-0

An explosive offensive attack from Monroe Area sends Stephens County to its second straight region loss.

The Purple Hurricanes scored seven touchdowns on their first 12 plays of the game on their way to a 47-0 win over the Indians.

Stephens County Head Coach Travis Noland said Monroe Area showed why they are one of the top teams in the state at the AAAA level.

“Like I told (the team) after the game, we only have to play them one time,” said Noland.  “We have four games to try to get ourselves into playoff contention.  The kids worked hard.  They were prepared.  It is hard to hit what you cannot catch and those guys are really, really fast.  We just have to go back to work.  We are not throwing in the towel by any means and hopefully we will better next Friday night when we take the field at the Reservation.”

Monroe Area quarterback Stanton Truitt ran for about 100 yards, scoring on touchdown runs of 34 and 56 yards.

Truitt also threw a 22-yard touchdown pass.

Meanwhile, Kwan Brooks also had two touchdown runs in the first half, scoring on runs of 28 and 51 yards.

Michael Gallup added an 87-yard touchdown run, while Keon Camp started the scoring for the Purple Hurricanes on a 49-yard touchdown run on the second play of the game.

The Indians were led offensively by Sapario Reese, who ran for about 80 yards.

With the loss, Stephens County drops to 3-3 overall and 1-2 in Region 8-AAAA.  Monroe Area is now 6-0 on the season and 3-0 in the region.

Stephens County returns home next Friday night to host MadisonCounty on Homecoming at the Reservation.

In other Region 8-AAAA action, Lanier beat Eastside 40-10, Chestatee beat Walnut Grove 27-0, and Madison County edged Lumpkin County 28-21.

Elsewhere in the area, Hart County beat Oconee County 44-14, Franklin County lost to North Oconee 42-7, and Habersham Central fell to Meadowcreek 21-14.

Arby’s Player of the Game: Will Smith
Hart EMC Lineman of the Game: Desi Garrison
Mill Creek Veterinary Clinic Sub of the Game: Micah Oglesby
First Baptist Church Spirit Award: Richard Hobbs