NGTC Announces GOAL Semi-finalists

North Georgia Technical College is beginning the process of finding this year’s local Georgia Award for Occupational Leadership, or GOAL, competition winner.

The GOAL Program is designed to spotlight outstanding achievement by students in the Georgia Technical College System and to emphasize the importance of technical education in today’s global workplace.

Local GOAL winners are selected at each of the state’s technical colleges and then through a series of competitive interviews, the top student of the system is identified.

According to North Georgia Technical College, it has completed the first round of interviews with faculty and staff for local nominees and twelve students have been selected as semi-finalists for the local competition.

GOAL candidates are nominated by an instructor and must carry at least a 3.0 GPA.

This year’s North Georgia Technical College GOAL semi-finalists are:
Eric Allen of Canon in Electrical Systems Technology, Dustin Bucher of Clarkesville in Turf & Golf Course Management, Brittany Conley of Lavonia in Culinary Arts, Thomas Curry in Photography, Janie Davis of Cleveland in Medical Assisting, Charles Hall of Clarkesville in Health Care Science, Sharon Mathews of Epworth in Medical Assisting, Gabriel Orozco of Clarkesville in Criminal Justice, Kemberely Scott of Martin in Horticulture, Sarah Spivey of Waycross in Photography, Emily Sullens of Alto in Engineering Technology, and Tabitha Trevino of Clarkesville in Business Administrative Technology.

This group of 12 semi-finalists will be interviewed again by the Vice Presidents and Directors at North Georgia Technical College, who will select four finalists to be announced at the GOAL Breakfast on Tuesday, January 15, 2013.

Those four will then be interviewed by members of the community who will choose the winner for North Georgia Technical College.

In addition, these semi-finalists are also eligible to be the recipient of the Marlowe-Evans GOAL Scholarship. The Scholarship, founded in 2005 by Jim Marlowe and Bob Evans, is given to one of the 12 GOAL finalists at North Georgia Technical College who exemplifies the spirit of Bob Evans and Jim Marlowe through their community service and willingness to help others.

A number of other students were also nominated for this year’s award.

They are: Michael Ragsdale of Athens in Welding, Chestney Wilbanks of Baldwin in Welding, Blairsville students Norma Garrett and Jordan Thomas in Applied Business Technology, Willadene Tyler of Blairsville in Accounting, Brittany Dyer of Blairsville in Criminal Justice, Brandy Craft of Canon in Practical Nursing, Tasha Anderson of Clarkesville in Business Administrative Technology, Stephanie Fain of Cleveland in Accounting, Cathryn Washell of Cleveland in Cosmetology, James Wood of Cleveland in Health Care Science, Christopher Watson of Demorest in Air Conditioning Technology, Tonya Bray of Demorest in Business Administrative Technology, Cheryl Stepp of Epworth in Accounting, Micah McMilan of Gainesville in Marine Engine Technology, Anthony Fiero of Helen in Automotive Technology, Laura Johnson of Hiawassee in Auto Collision, Isabella Rabideau of Morganton in Health Care Science, Chanon Neumyer of Mt. Airy in Criminal Justice Technology, Anna Perkins of Mt. Airy in Pharmacy Technology, Jeffrey Foster of Rabun Gap in Air Conditioning Technology, Robert King of Royston in Industrial Systems Technology, Deborah DeLong of Sautee-Nacoochee in Pharmacy Technology, and Kimberly Smith of Toccoa in Health Care Science.