Scholars Honored at Reception

Stephens County High School  Scholars were honored at the annual Scholar Reception Tuesday night at Stephens County High School. The reception was sponsored by the Toccoa-Stephens County Chamber of Commerce Education Committee. Committee Vice-Chair Greg Pitts says it is a special time to honor a special group.

“We’re honoring 24 young people who are the tops in their class as far as the test scores on the ACT, SAT, and Compass” says Pitts; “We are tickled to honor these students, as well as the Star Student and Star Teacher. These (students) are the cream of the crop. We are awfully proud of them. It gives the Chamber Education Committee great pleasure in recognizing these young people.”

Students honored for the SAT and ACT included: Jordan Chambers, Bailey Dickinson, Madison Hickey, Emily Smith, and Ian York.

Students honored for the SAT scores included: Star Student-Connor Roberts, Savannah Bourne, Aaron Ekback, Brittany Grier, Alexandra Jester, and Ariel Walker.

Students honored for ACT scores included: Amy Cherban, Victoria Dake, Emily Frazier, and Gabriel Norcross.

Students honored for COMPASS scores included: Brandon Provitera, Nathan Bohannon, Austin Dooley, Austin Chitwood, Andrew Sparks, Ashley Ellers, Jonathan Logan Payne, Amber Wheeler, and Jacob Griffin.

The Star Student is Connor Roberts and Star Teacher is Tamara Cash.