Stephens Co. Forms Planning Commission

With a land use ordinance taking effect, Stephens County will also now have a Planning Commission to help deal with that ordinance.

Tuesday, Stephens County Commissioners unanimously voted to appoint five people to the Planning Commission.

Those people are Mark Wilkinson, Mark Smith, James Addison, Myron McClain, and Joe Moore.

Stephens County Administrator Phyllis Ayers said that each county commissioner nominated one individual to be on that Planning Commission.

“Four of those were on the original (Land Use Regulations) Committee,” said Ayers.

Ayers said that county commissioners will set the terms for each of the Planning Commission members at their next meeting.

She noted that the terms will be staggered so they do not all expire at once.

Under the county’s land use ordinance, the five-member Planning Commission would hear requests from individuals for variances from the land use plan or other issues dealing with the plan.

Ayers said the Planning Commission is only responsible for making recommendations to the county commission.

She said the county commission would make a final decision on whether or not to grant a variance during one of its meetings.