GHSA Reclassification Keeps Stephens Co. In AAAA

Stephens County High School will remain in Class AAAA for the next two years, according to the official reclassification numbers released Monday by the Georgia High School Association.

Those numbers show Stephens County’s enrollment figure at 1099.

That makes it the second-smallest school in Class AAAA, ahead of only Pike County at 1096.

Most of the current Region 8-AAAA falls back in Class AAAA for the next two years, including Eastside, Johnson of Gainesville, Chestatee, Walnut Grove, Madison County, and Monroe Area.

However, Lanier will move to up to Class AAAAA and Lumpkin County will fall to AAA starting with the 2014-2015 school year.

Meanwhile, some northeast Georgia schools are moving up to Class AAAA starting next year.

They include White County, North Hall, North Oconee, and Buford.

Franklin, Hart, Elbert, and Banks counties will all remain in Class AAA for the next two years, while Habersham Central will once again compete in Class AAAAAA.

With the enrollment numbers released, schools now have until December 2 to submit a request to play in a higher classification.

The Georgia High School Association’s Reclassification Committee will then meet on December 3 in order to place schools in new regions.

After an appeal timeline for schools to request transfers to other regions, the regions will be finalized in January to take effect next school year.