J.B. Hudgins Appointed to Andrews’ Commission Seat Pending Election

A familiar face to county government will fill the seat of late Stephens County Commissioner Harold Andrews pending a special election.

Stephens County Probate Judge Glenda Ernest announced Wednesday that she would appoint former Stephens County Commissioner J.B. Hudgins to Andrews’ post.

Ernest said she put a lot of thought into the decision about who would replace Andrews, who passed away earlier this month.

She said she tried to make the fairest and most economical decision possible for the people of Stephens County.

“I feel strongly that it is up to the people to elect those who serve in office and in making my decision I wanted to make sure that all wishing to seek this post would have a fair and equal standing,” said Ernest.  “I spoke with Mr. Hudgins and he assured me that he would not seek office in the upcoming special election, but was willing to serve as needed until a special election could be held.  Mr. Hudgins served as a past commissioner and has the training required, therefore eliminating additional cost to the people of Stephens County.”

Hudgins served as a Stephens County Commissioner from 2009 to 2012.

He said he appreciates the opportunity to help the county out in this way.

“Harold (Andrews) had some ideas and I have been listening to him, so I will be glad to step in and help out,” said Hudgins.  “Everyone needs the chance to serve their community and I am looking forward to it.”

According to Ernest, numerous people showed interest in filling Andrews’ seat.

“I would like to thank all the people who submitted names for consideration for this post and I encourage all those interested in this position to quality for the upcoming special election,” said Ernest.

A special election to fill the remainder of Andrews’ unexpired term, which runs through December 31, 2014, is scheduled for March, unless a court order is issued to change that date.

Meanwhile, Andrews’ seat on the county commission will then come up for a new four-year term in the 2014 general election cycle.