New Year Brings Some New Government Leaders

A new year always brings change and 2013 is no different.

In Stephens County, two new commissioners, Dennis Bell and Debbie Whitlock, will also begin their first terms this month. Tony Crunkleton and Jim Ledford also take over seats on the Board of Education in Stephens County this month.

Stephens County will also soon have a new Representative in the U.S. House.

Once the new Congress begins, Doug Collins will represent Stephens County as the new 9th District Representative. Paul Broun’s 10th District was shifted to an area farther south in the state.

Also, Dan Gasaway will be the new 28th District State Representative.

Meanwhile in the city of Toccoa, the mayor and vice-mayor will remain the same in the year ahead. City commissioners voted last month to have David Austin again serve as mayor in 2013, while Andy Pavliscsak will continue to serve as vice-mayor.