NGTC Announces GOAL Semi-Finalists

North Georgia Technical College is announcing the semi-finalists for this year’s Georgia Occupational Award for Leadership, or GOAL Award, at the school.

The GOAL Program is designed to spotlight outstanding achievement by students in the Georgia Technical College System and to emphasize the importance of technical education in today’s global workplace.

GOAL candidates are nominated by an instructor and must carry at least a 3.0 Grade Point Average.

Local GOAL winners are selected at each of the state’s technical colleges.

The first round of interviews with faculty and staff narrows the field to twelve semi-finalists who are interviewed again by the Vice Presidents and Directors at the college.

The winner of the North Georgia Technical College Marlowe-Evans GOAL Scholarship and the school’s four GOAL finalists will be announced at the GOAL Breakfast on Tuesday, January 13, 2015.

Those four finalists will then be interviewed by members of the community who will choose the winner for the college.

That winner then goes on to compete at the state level.

The GOAL event originated at North Georgia Tech more than 40 years ago.

Area students named as semi-finalists this year include Emily Sullens of Alto, Brian Crowe of Clayton, Clay Guzik of Clarkesville, Matt Fields of Carnesville, Phyllis Tutt of Cornelia, and Makayla Stewart of Clarkesville.

These semi-finalists are also eligible to be the recipient of the Marlowe-Evans GOAL Scholarship.

The Scholarship, founded in 2005 by Jim Marlowe and Bob Evans, is given to one of the GOAL finalists at North Georgia Technical College who exemplifies the spirit of Bob Evans and Jim Marlowe through their community service and willingness to help others.

18 students in all competed in the initial round of the school’s GOAL competition.

Other area students competing this year in the GOAL competition included Jonathan Joyner of Clarkesville, Pamela Enix of Carnesville, Beverly Edwards of Martin, and Shalisha Martin of Hartwell.

North Georgia Tech Dean for Student Affairs Dr. Fran Chastain said the school is proud of all the nominees, adding that each one did an outstanding