Powers Receives Award From Junior Achievement

A Stephens County school system principal receives recognition at a regional event.

Liberty Elementary School Principal Terri Powers received the “Educator of the Year” award last Thursday from Junior Achievement of Georgia and Walters Management Company.

Junior Achievement is a non-profit organization that brings the real world to students through hands-on curriculum delivered by a trained classroom volunteer to encourage growth in areas like work-readiness, financial literacy, and entrepreneurship. The program has been a part of the entire school’s curriculum at Liberty Elementary since 2008.

Stephens County School Superintendent Sherrie Whiten said Powers is deserving of this award.

“Mrs. Powers does an outstanding job,” said Whiten. “It is just one more of those great things they do at Liberty Elementary and we are so proud of her.”

In a press release about the award, Powers said that Junior Achievement has really benefited students at Liberty by encouraging an early foundation for civic awareness. She added that her hope is that it will encourage community involvement throughout their lives.

Whiten also said that she feels the Junior Achievement program is very beneficial for students at Liberty.

“They have the opportunity to hear and have these kinds of lessons re-enforced to them about personal financial literacy and what are some of things they need to look forward to getting out into the work force,” said Whiten. “They hear from folks that are actually in the workforce and they are able to pass along some of the skills they will need as they move along in their educational careers and get ready to move out into the world of work.”

Powers received the award during Junior Achievement’s fourth annual Northeast Georgia Business Hall of Fame event last Thursday at the Chattahoochee Country Club in Gainesville.

Elsewhere, the Stephens County school system announced recently that Special Education teacher Cheryl Velazquez received the “Phillip Wright Award.” The school system said that award goes to individuals who are advocates for and supporters of students with disabilities.