Stephens Co. Honors “Top Five”

Stephens County honors its “Top Five.”

The annual Toccoa Rotary Club Top Five Banquet took place Tuesday night at Stephens County High School. The banquet honors Stephens County High School graduating seniors who have performed academically in the top five percent in their class.

Toccoa Rotary Club President-Elect the Rev. Mary Demmler said it was a wonderful evening.

“It is always such an honor to get together and celebrate the accomplishments of our young people and to see the fantastic job that they do,” said the Rev. Demmler, who said the slide presentations about each of the seniors is especially enjoyable.

The Toccoa Rotary Club provides the top five percent of seniors with scholarship money to assist them with their first year in college.

This year’s “Top Five” seniors are Morgan Ann Akridge, Larry Lucian “Luc” Allgood IV, Miranda Montana Colwell, Brianna Lynn Cosgrove, Lauren Elizabeth Ford, Clayton Michael Fulbright, Nathan Mitchell Ivester, Kathryn Grace Knickerbocker, Abigail Lauren Mulkey, Deandra Shareese Rucker, Allison Dyan Struble, Bailey Marie Taylor, and Annabelle Elizabeth Zhuno.

The keynote speaker for the banquet Tuesday night was the 2009 National Principal of the Year, Dr. Mark Wilson.

He spoke of success and the different attributes to achieving it, including talent, practice, and passion to name a few.

Dr. Wilson also said that when one achieves success, it brings with it responsibility.

“You have been given this amazing gift and you have to figure out exactly what the gift is,” said Dr. Wilson. “You need to figure out what your gift is and put it in action. A gift that does not have any movement just sits there.”

The Rev. Demmler said she thought Dr. Wilson was a great speaker with a wonderful message.

“I certainly took a lot away from it, talking about success and how to achieve in life and that it is not always what you think it is going to be,” said the Rev. Demmler. “It is not always about talent and about being smart. Most of it is about responsibility and determination and being a good person.”

The “Top Five” banquet also honors the top five students in grades six through 11.

Grade Six: Alana Jean Bohannon, Daniel Jerry Brock, Alma Helena Conway, Monique Alexa Gautreaux, Davis Martin Swenson

Grade Seven: Andi Grace Brock, Christopher Joseph Carringer, Dawson Randall Dean, Denvi Atulkumar Patel, Hannah Suzanne Watkins

Grade Eight: Ian Douglas Allen, Rachel Marie Arnold, Kristiane Eileen Knickerbocker, Lauren Diane Swenson, Tabitha Paige Williams

Grade Nine: Ellen Mae Brock, Tiffany Denise Haddock, Grayson Melea Mitchell, Emily Grace Morgan, Haylee Elizabeth Walker

Grade Ten: Dustin Jordan Bivins, Kenneth Dennis Brock, Kristoffer Michael Clark, Grant Walker Dawson, Karolyn Jean Knickerbocker

Grade Eleven: Josie Suzanne Anderson, Madison Michelle Hickey, Carlan Rae Howard, Katherine Lane Hunt, Alexandra Nicole Jester, William Connor Roberts