Toccoa Falls College Hosts Ribbon Cutting Ceremony for Nursing School

What has been planned for years has now come to fruition.

Toccoa Falls College hosted a ribbon cutting ceremony for the new Fetterman School of Nursing on Thursday.

Toccoa Falls College President Dr. Robert Myers said that the Nursing school is a dream come true.

“53 years ago, Toccoa Falls College had it in their heart to have a nursing program,” said Myers. “And we gave land which has been used by Stephens County Hospital to build their hospital in hopes that at some point we would partner with them and have a nursing program. Now after 53 years, we’re finally seeing the realization of this happening and we’re able to really put our mission in action, which is developing Godly character with intellect in our students.”

Myers told the large crowd gathered for the ribbon cutting how it became the Fetterman School of nursing.

“Hal and Sue Fetterman, who the building is named for- Hal is not a graduate here. He has no connection here, but he knew some people who had connections here,” said Myers. “He has no connections in nursing, no family are nurses- nothing like that. I went to meet with him in Ohio and he spoke with me about business stuff. A couple weeks later, he said my banker is going to call you. And we worked out the arrangements on this building.”

Myers said that not only is the Fetterman School of Nursing a wonderful new building on the campus, but also a great opportunity to build the student body.

“No doubt about it, our first class we’re bringing in about 20 and we’re sitting at 19 right now,” said Myers. “So we could handle a couple more and we encourage anyone whose interested in nursing to please apply and come do it with us.”

The nursing program at TFC is a four-year program of study that leads to the Bachelor of Science degree with a major in Nursing.

The groundbreaking for the new building was in May 2016, and the school was granted initial approval for the BSN program by the Georgia State Board of Nursing in July, 2016.